Learn More About San Mateo County's Transportation Demand Management Agency

Commute.org’s mission is to reduce the number of vehicle miles traveled (VMT) by commuters to decrease congestion, improve the environment, and enhance quality of life. We do this by encouraging and supporting the use of sustainable alternatives to driving alone. We envision a region where all residents and employees have access to equitable, sustainable, affordable, and safe transportation options and use them as their primary modes when commuting on the Peninsula.

Commute.org is a joint powers agency (JPA) located in San Mateo County, California. The JPA is comprised of 19 cities and towns as well as the County of San Mateo.

Funding for Commute.org programs is provided by the San Mateo County Transportation Authority (TA), C/CAG of San Mateo, Bay Area Air Quality Management District, and public/private sector contributors to the shuttle program. See the Partners page for more information.

Board of Directors

The Board has five scheduled meetings each year for the purpose of adopting a work plan and budget, developing policy, and reviewing Commute.org performance. All board meetings are open to the public. 

Cliff Lentz, City of Brisbane (Chair)
Gina Latimerlo, City of Belmont (Vice Chair)
Elizabeth Lewis, Town of Atherton
Emily Beach, City of Burlingame
Ken Gonzalez, Town of Colma
Pamela DiGiovanni, City of Daly City
Carlos Romero, City of East Palo Alto

Stacy Jimenez, City of Foster City
Joaquin Jimenez, City of Half Moon Bay
Leslie Marden Ragsdale, Town of Hillsborough
Jen Wolosin, City of Menlo Park
Gina Papan, City of Millbrae
Christine Boles, City of Pacifica
Open, Town of Portola Valley

Chris Sturken, City of Redwood City
Rico Medina, City of San Bruno
Sara McDowell, City of San Carlos
Rob Newsom, City of San Mateo
Eddie Flores, City of South San Francisco
David Canepa, County of San Mateo


Commute.org has two standing committees. The Supervisory Committee is made up of staff member representatives from a variety of cities, towns, and partners in San Mateo County. The Finance Committee is composed of members of both the Board of Directors and the Supervisory Committee. All committee meetings are open to the public.

Supervisory Committee Members:

Christian Hammack, City of Redwood City (Chair)
Shirley Chan, City of Daly City (Vice Chair)
Peter Skinner, San Mateo County Transit District
Jessica Stanfill Mullin, County of San Mateo
Kaki Cheung, C/CAG
Sue-Ellen Atkinson, City of San Mateo
Randy Breault, City of Brisbane
Christina Fernandez, City of South San Francisco

Finance Committee Members:

Grace Castaneda, City of Belmont (Chair, Supervisory Committee representative)
Shirley Chan, City of Daly City (Vice Chair, Supervisory Committee representative)
Cliff Lentz (Board Representative)
Open (Board Representative)
Open (Board Representative)


Commute.org Board and committee meetings are open to the public. A list of upcoming and past meetings is shown below. Copies of meeting agendas, materials, and minutes are maintained at the agency’s office and are available to the public by request.

If you would like to be notified when meetings are scheduled or materials posted, please use the “Subscriptions” link below.

Reports & RFPs

Commute.org posts reports and guidance on a wide variety of TDM topics and governance issues. We also post current RFPs. Below you will find links to the most current documents, videos, and RFPs. For more information on any of these or any other topics please use the ‘Contact Us’ link below.

Total Compensation Study RFP (4/2024)
FY 2024 Work Plan
Strategic Plan 2025
FY 2023 Annual Report
FY 2022 Audited Financial Statements
Government Compensation in California Report (AB 2040)
Conflict of Interest Code
Bay Area Bountiful – video profile of Commute.org

Job Openings

No current job openings.

Contact Us

    *indicates required fields